The Zurich Forensic Science Institute (FOR) offers comprehensive services in the areas of forensics and accident investigation, thanks to a close collaboration between police officers and scientists.

Executive staff

Management and other executives


Thomas Ottiker, MSc

Director, Zurich Forensic Science Institute

Chairman of the Executive Board


Jörg Arnold, dipl. phys. ETHZ

Deputy Director, Zurich Forensic Science Institute

Head of Science

Member of the Executive Board


Urs Herbstrith

Head of Support & Administration

Member of the Executive Board

Stephan Bamert

Head of Crime Scene Investigation Department

Dr. Christian Bogdal

Head of Analytics

Dr. Dominik Hänni

Chief Digital Officer

Dr. Rolf Hofer

Head of Biometrics

Andreas Leu, dipl. Automobil Ing. FH

Head of Accidents & Technology

Andreas Egger

Head of Criminalistics

Florian Schmid

Head of Zurich Explosives Disposal Service

Dr. Michael Bovens

Chief Scientist

Head of Research and Development

Sabine Hess, MSc

Head of Education and Training

Robert Bürgisser

Deputy Head of Support & Administration

Dr. Martin Lory

Chief Scientist